World Congress Information

Moderator: World Congress Coordinator

World Congress Information

Postby Auditorii » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:19 pm

The World Congress is an international organisation seeking to promote international cooperation in a number of areas. The two primary organs of the organisation are the General Assembly and the Security Council.

General Assembly

The General Assembly is open to national governments, trade unions, political parties, business groups and other interest groups of all kinds and seeks to provide a forum for discussion of important issues of international concern. Players are expected to provide the identity of the individual speaking and the organisation, group or government they are representing alongside all comments.

Discussions are chaired by the Secretary-General of the World Congress, who is a bureaucrat controlled by the World Congress Coordinator. The role shall be used to guide and focus discussions while avoiding political interventions whenever possible. The General Assembly has no power to pass resolutions although individuals are welcome to make recommendations to the Security Council, as well as comment on Security Council resolutions and discussions.

Security Council

The Security Council is the World Congress’ governing authority. Composed of unelected permanent members and elected non-permanent members, it has the power to pass resolutions by majority vote.

Permanent members are “great powers” as determined by the military rankings and possess a veto power on all resolutions. Non-permanent members are determined by monthly elections. Playable countries are divided into four separate regional groups, with a single member representing each seat. Playable countries can vote in all four seats through the relevant in-game variables. The regions are as follows:

Seat A (Artania): Aloria, Beluzia, Darnussia, Dorvik, Dundorf, Endralon, Hawu Mumenhes, Hobrazia, Keymon, Kirlawa, Kundrati, Luthori, Malivia, Rutania.

Seat B (Majatra): Badara, Barmenia, Beiteynu, Cildania, Cobura, Deltaria, Istalia, Jakania, Jelbania, Kafuristan, Kalopia, Pontesi, Selucia, Solentia , Vanuku, Zardugal.

Seat C (Seleya): Aldegar, Alduria, Baltusia, Gaduridos, Indrala, Kalistan, Kanjor, Likatonia, Lodamun, Mordusia, Rildanor, Saridan, Tukarali, Valruzia.

Seat D (Dovani, Keris and Makon): Dankuk, Davostan, Dolgaria, Egelion, Hulstria, Hutori, Kazulia, Lourenne, New Endralon, Sekowo, Talmoria, Telamon, Trigunia, Vorona.

Elections are conducted at the beginning of a new session, usually a month after the previous session began. In each seat, the country with the most votes is elected to the Security Council. If that country is already a permanent member then the country with the next highest votes total shall take their place. If there is a tie then the permanent members shall vote to determine which country takes the seat.

The fifth non-permanent member of the Security Council must be a non-playable country. The fifth member is decided by the controllers of the non-playable countries among themselves through an ad-hoc discussion and voting thread. Each controller is entitled to one vote (regardless of how many countries they control). Players who do not control a non-playable country are not eligible to vote. Prior to the start of voting, any controller may nominate their country to stand in the discussion thread. Voting will begin exactly three days before the beginning of the Security Council term, assuming that there is more than one candidate.

Non-permanent members of the Security Council have one week (real time) from the date of their election to present their representative to the body. If no representative is presented in this time then they shall forfeit their seat for the session and they shall be replaced by the country with the next highest votes total. Permanent members have three days (real time) from the beginning of the session to present their representative to the body. If no representative is presented in this time then they shall forfeit their seat for the session and the Security Council shall operate without them.

Resolutions may be proposed by any member of the Security Council and all members may offer comments on proposed resolutions. Once a resolution has been discussed, it shall be formally presented for voting. In order to pass, a resolution must attain more votes in favour than against and have no permanent member vote against it after five days of voting.

Discussions are chaired by the President of the Security Council, who is expected to facilitate progress on matters of importance. The President is elected by the members of the Security Council in a similar manner to the adoption of a resolution, a member nominates an individual and they must receive majority approval and not be vetoed by a permanent member. Prior to the election of the President or if the Security Council fails to appoint one, the General-Secretary may chair discussions or may appoint an interim President to do so.

Other services and organisations

The World Congress News Service acts as a tool for the dissemination of information about the operation of the organisation to governments, organisations and the general public.

The World Congress Archive contains full records of all previous Security Council and General Assembly sessions, as well as other useful information.

The World Congress Human Rights Office seeks to advance the cause of fundamental human rights through international cooperation.

The World Congress Peacekeeping and Assistance Office is responsible for administering the World Congress Peacekeeping and Assistance Force.

Certain organisations maintain a “partner” status with the World Congress, meaning that they work closely with the organisation in order to achieve shared objectives, the full list of these organisations can be found here.
Third World Coordinator
Image Dorvik - Image Ostland - Image Bazgaristan (Xsampa)
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:51 am

Return to World Congress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests